Personal Side Project: Part 11

At some point I knew I’d have to try and make a proper flower. I wasn’t thrilled with the idea though. Flowers, like clouds, are simply beyond me. I would like to be able to sit in my garden and paint one day and I really don’t think I’ll have a garden devoid of flowers. If I want to be able to paint my garden, I’m just going to have to suck it up and learn how to paint a good flower.

IMG_20150304_223144

Well that went as well as a youtube-free attempt could have gone. I like the white bark of the tree, definitely going to use that in the future. Flowers though will need to be added to the ‘learn how to create’ list. They aren’t all bad though. I could probably pick out five or six flowers I like.

It’s a little hard to see at this size but there are butterflies all over the tree as well The one on the lowest left hand side turned out the best. I found it really hard to be precise when making an image that small. It was annoying to find that my hand shook a lot, with a lot of practice I will probably develop far more steady hands.

Leave a Reply

